Lipstick Addiction: New Persona in a Tube? Who can resist?

Standard

I am addicted to lipstick.

Creative Commons A tube of lipstick can bring put a new persona.

Creative Commons
A tube of lipstick can bring put a new persona.

Creative Commons Local drugstores and supermarkets offer a variety of affordable makeup options.

Creative Commons
Local drugstores and supermarkets offer a variety of affordable makeup options.

I have no idea why, but every time I’m in a drug store I follow the wall to a myriad of colored tubes like a moth to a flame. Swiping on a new shade is almost like an alcoholic feeling the first drips of vanilla vodka on their tongue.

 

 

Okay, maybe it’s not that serious.

Anyway, there is something exciting about the fact that a $3-$8 container of color can promise a whole new outlook on life.

Are you having a bad day and

Creative Commons Bold red lips are classic.

Creative Commons
Bold red lips are classic.

you want to look amazing and channel your inner-red lipstick diva? Did you just see a frenemy land a guy? Or maybe you want to celebrate a promotion? It could just be a random Thursday- night- Target/ Walmart/ CVS run.

Truth is, you don’t need a reason for a new lipstick.

Addiction runs as deep burgundy as that berry-red lipstick you just had to try. There are so many choices, it isn’t just a sugar-sweet pink or cherry red. There is a shade for practically every color under the sun. Creative and fun names are just as

Creative Commons I love pink just as much as Elle Woods and usually gravitate towards hot pink shades.

Creative Commons
I love pink just as much as Elle Woods and usually gravitate towards hot pink shades.

alluring. Gentlemen

Creative Commons Words to live by, penned by the late glamour-queen Elizabeth Taylor.

Creative Commons
Words to live by, penned by the late glamour-queen Elizabeth Taylor.

prefer pink, red rapture, regal berry, seductress… it’s a new persona in a little bottle.

I love pink. My entire bedroom is pink and my room at school that before looked like a cross between a jail and mental institution with white cinder-block walls looks like Kesha and Elle Woods took over. It’s a hot pink, glitter and canopy world, and I wouldn’t have it any other way.

Creative Commons Elizabeth Taylor was a classic starlet that embraced the power of lipstick.

Creative Commons
Elizabeth Taylor was a classic starlet that embraced the power of lipstick.

I usually reach for pink lipsticks, especially bold, hot pinks. Pinks are complex yet almost universally flattering; you get a nice burst of color that is bright but not as hard to pull off a red.

Creative Commons What shade should you wear next?

Creative Commons
What shade should you wear next?

Recently, I have been drawn to dark berry shades. As much as I covet those that can pull of a killer-red stain, berry is my in between.

I was at the store, telling myself I absolutely could not

Creative Commons Why are these aisles of makeup for tempting?

Creative Commons
Why are these aisles of makeup for tempting?

buy another lipstick.

I ended up, happily, in the bright, warm, florescent aisle surrounded by rows upon rows of delectable options.

Creative Commons Actress, singer and TV-host Queen Latifah models her CoverGirl lipstick line.

Creative Commons
Actress, singer and TV-host Queen Latifah models her CoverGirl lipstick line.

I chose Berry Regal in Covergirl’s Queen Collection. The

The Queen collection's Regal Raspeberry is fit for flirting in a royal court.

The Queen collection’s Regal Raspeberry is fit for flirting in a royal court.

collection, inspired by Queen Latifah is as bold and fun as the actress herself. The shade is deep, but I feel as though it complements many skin tones and eye shades. I like the way the mauve-ish berry with copper tones looks with my blue eyes.

 

 

IMG_4070

A blurry glimpse of the color in the gilded tube. Reminds me of the 1920s. Would flappers wear something like this?!

A blurry glimpse of the color in the gilded tube. Reminds me of the 1920s. Would flappers wear something like this?!

 

 

At least, they are mostly blue. Sometime grey, not Rory Gilmore blue but it’s ok!

 

 

 

 

Me in regal raspberry. My eyes are glazed over from writing this and watching Netflix... I Promise.

Me in regal raspberry. My eyes are glazed over from writing this and watching Netflix… I Promise.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

On another trip to the store, I remembered watching a makeup video by Zoella (the first one I’ve watched of her) about

Rimmel London's Kate Moss Collection 107.

Rimmel London’s Kate Moss Collection 107.

Valentine’s Day makeup. I

Me trying to model Rimmel's 107

Me trying to model Rimmel’s 107

remembered she used a drugstore lipstick, Rimmel

London’ s Kate Moss inspired 107. She looked gorgeous in the video, and that, coupled with the

A view of the color burst that is 107.

A view of the color burst that is 107.

affordable shade (and the 107 name that sounded

107's adorable red bottle is complete with an autograph and a heart. If only it said "Jess xoxo"

107’s adorable red bottle is complete with an autograph and a heart. If only it said “Jess xoxo”

even cooler with her British accent) I had an excuse to buy.

I had so much fun wearing it out that night. It’s a dark red, that’s almost more subtle because it is not super bright or cherry. The color is more of a berry and vintage pink.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

On my latest trip, I walked by the makeup section and my heart lit up at all of the products in shiny packages.

Rimmel No. 30

Rimmel No. 30

I want to just have a

A closer look at the Rimmel 30 tube. The tube is the reverse of the other shade, with red on black. I think it's edgy.

A closer look at the Rimmel 30 tube. The tube is the reverse of the other shade, with red on black. I think it’s edgy.

shopping spree and try out all different kinds of makeup or help companies decide upon colors or names at the least! That’s another story.I passed by Rimmel’s lipsticks among others and affectionately looked at the 107 shade. I was aiming for a dark pink, but I could not stop looking at a dark sangria shade called Rosetto. I could definitely be a rebel/ glam goddess in it. IMG_4064At least that’s what that little $4.95 tube (that I should have spent on something else like food or a vacation

Me in Rimmel 30.

Me in Rimmel 30.

fund) conveyed.

I love the color too. There’s something about these deep, bold colors that make you feel like a badass, in a

Creative Commons British model Kate Moss shows off  her lipstick line.

Creative Commons
British model Kate Moss shows off her lipstick line.

good way. I like that all shades make me feel kind of retro-glam and complement my skin tone, which is currently pale in the winter. I feel as though lots of different tones could play with these colors. The trick is applying lightly or darkly, and blotting with tissues. If you want, you can always layer lipsticks and even layer glosses to achieve a unique look that is completely you.

I hope that not many else out there suffer from my lipstick addiction ( it could be worse) and I am in no way recommending this addiction, but just try out some different colors and have fun! But try the color that seems too bold or dark or the ones that has a strangely cute or tempting name. Who knows, you could feel like a completely new person? Remember, makeup should just enhance the true you!

Top: Covergirl in  Regal Raspberry  Middle: Rimmel 107  Bottom: Rimmel 30  Please excuse my dry hands. This is reason number 500 that spring needs to get here!

Top: Covergirl in Regal Raspberry
Middle: Rimmel 107
Bottom: Rimmel 30
Please excuse my dry hands. This is reason number 500 that spring needs to get here!

Leave a Reply

