Sundresses, strappy heels and sunlight-Why spring needs to be here

Standard

 

Creative Commons Field of daffodils in the sun.

Creative Commons
Field of daffodils in the sun.

I cannot wait for Spring.

I say this as I am wearing a red lace skirt in defiance of the cold weather that is lingering in March.

Creative Commons A gorgeous spring sunset paints the sky with all of the colors of the wind.

Creative Commons
A gorgeous spring sunset paints the sky with all of the colors of the wind.

Winter should watch out.

Spring break should be warm and sunny, a tease of the summer months to

come.

On my break from school, 40 degree temperatures seem like a respite from frigid negative digits and blankets of snow still cover the suburban ground.

Creative Commons Daffodils in the sunlight cheer up a spring garden.

Creative Commons
Daffodils in the sunlight cheer up a spring garden.

I want to see golden daffodils springing up

Creative Commons Golden pink roses bloom in the sunlight.

Creative Commons
Golden pink roses bloom in the sunlight.

from soft,  emerald-

green grass. Budding pink roses glowing in a pool of golden light before twilight sets in-now, that’s a sight to see.

People feel crammed in the winter months. Don’t get me wrong, I love watching white snow fall.

Creative Commons Newly falling snow creating a layer of soft diamonds on the ground is beautiful...but the snow melt on cold lingers.

Creative Commons
Newly falling snow creating a layer of soft diamonds on the ground is beautiful…but the snow melt on cold lingers.

There is something magical about small flurries, falling down from the sky like soft rose petals. The world seems to become softer, quiet.

Everything is exciting during the

Creative Commons If winter weather ended somewhere after a New Year's Eve induced haze of sparkles and champagne, people might stick to resolutions. Snow is great for the holidays, that's all.

Creative Commons
If winter weather ended somewhere after a New Year’s Eve induced haze of sparkles and champagne, people might stick to resolutions. Snow is great for the holidays, that’s all.

holidays, all warm and cheerful.

Then, after the haze of sequins and alcohol of New Year’s, spring should hit. It sure would make it easier to stick to New Year’s resolutions.

I crave sunlight. I want it to warm up my skin (maybe I can get a tan and stop dusting  so much peachy blush and bronzer on my cheeks.)

Who am I kidding, I love makeup, but is it a crime to want to walk outside and feel comfortable without wearing a massive coat?

Outside, everything is grey. I’m not talking something exciting like

Creative Commons Drive the grey landscape away with beautiful burst of colors. Nothing can cheer you up more than blooming flowers in the spring.

Creative Commons
Drive the grey landscape away with beautiful burst of colors. Nothing can cheer you up more than blooming flowers in the spring.

“50 Shades of Grey” just bleak and cold, with bare branches reaching up in the sky.

I want color! Bursts of pink, gold, lavender, turquoise, all the colors

Creative Commons Bring on the season of sundresses! Lounge outside in the sunlight and swirl in your dress to your heart's content.

Creative Commons
Bring on the season of sundresses! Lounge outside in the sunlight and swirl in your dress to your heart’s content.

of a brilliant sunset, or pretty spring dresses.

I want to wear a sundress! It’s so much easier getting dressed in spring. You can slip on a sundress and look put together and cute without much effort.

Now in the cold mornings, I need to slide on skin-tight jeans and a cute shirt, but I need to wear a cardigan or sweater over top.Want to wear adorable strappy shoes? I have been wearing boots for months.

Creative Commons I have been living in boots similar to these without the sexy laces) since January.

Creative Commons
I have been living in boots similar to these (without the sexy laces) since January.

Not to show contempt for them, I love my high black heeled boots (and my ankle ones when I feel bold and want to switch it up)

It would be nice to show off a pop of pink or red polish in peep-

Creative Commons Switch your boots for wedges, heels and even peep toe shoes! Show your feet some love and paint nails a vibrant hue!

Creative Commons
Switch your boots for wedges, heels and even peep toe shoes! Show your feet some love and paint nails a vibrant hue!

toe shoes.

Spring is more than the freedom to wear whatever I want, free from the confines of layers of clothing, it’s a state of mind.

Going to school or work and

Creative Commons A beautiful, whimsical field of flowers awaits in spring.

Creative Commons
A beautiful, whimsical field of flowers awaits in spring.

walking outside, seeing the sky grow darker is depressing. The extra hours of sunlight to come are glorious. Being able to go to dinner and still see the sunlight on the horizon ( and not an inky-navy sky) is incredible.

I cannot wait to be able to go outside and walk around. Ok, I should have walked to the gym and went on the treadmill. Still, leaving campus to walk into town is something I’ve missed.

Creative Commons It's (almost) officially spring, I will wear a skirt if I want to.

Creative Commons
It’s (almost) officially spring, I will wear a skirt if I want to.

Springtime officially starts in 18 days. I know that on March 21 there will not be perfect-60 degree weather. I will still be out there, wearing a skirt, because it’s spring and I don’t have to explain myself.

As a self-proclaimed lipstick addict, I cannot wait to try spring makeup. Want to know what looks were featured in New York Fashion Week (that we can re-create?) Read my article for the Loquitur, my college newspaper here!

http://theloquitur.com/new-york-fashion-week-reveals-spring-makeup-trends/

 

Leave a Reply

