Forever a Gilmore Girl

Standard

Gilmore Girls debuted in 2000 and ended seven years later. I did not begin watching once this hilarious gem of a show first graced television screens, but thanks to endless ABC family re-runs and season DVD’s I’d like to say I am caught up.

Ever since then i have been experiencing Gilmore Girls withdraw. It’s like Lorelai without her daily dose of caffeine from Luke’s Diner.

I miss the witty, fast-talking banter between Lorelai and Rory, the adorable town events in Stars Hollow (why do all small towns look so quintessential and sweet on TV?) I would have taken lessons at  Miss Patty’s ballet school.

Flickr/Creative Commons Lorelei's and Rory's house. AKA the house I grew up in in my fantasy world.

Flickr/Creative Commons
Lorelai and Rory’s house. AKA the house I grew up in in my fantasy world.

Flickr/ Creative Commons The center of Stars Hallow, Connecticut in autumn.

Flickr/ Creative Commons
The center of Stars Hollow, Connecticut in autumn.

I felt like I lived there. Ok I’m from suburbs in PA, far from the endearing world of Stars Hollow, but a girl can still dream!

I want to be a mix of Lorelai and Rory. Lorelai is confident, funny

Flickr/ Creative Commons Actress Lauren Graham played Lorelei Gilmore on the TV show hit "Gilmore Girls."

Flickr/ Creative Commons
Actress Lauren Graham played Lorelei Gilmore on the TV show hit “Gilmore Girls.”

and bold. She is bubbly, caffeinated and sexy and she runs her own business.

The dragon-fly inn seems like the perfect place to stay, by the way.

If they made a Gilmore girls site, I would expect a Victorian style room complete with lace, a roaring fireplace, tall light pink candles and a bookshelf full of Jane Austen classics (maybe some complimentary cosmopolitan magazines) I would love to try a delicious dinner and dessert from Sookie’s kitchen.

I want to be Rory too. She started out as a sweet, doe-faced bookworm (seriously how does she have such perfect alabaster

Flickr/ Creative Commons Actress Alexis Bledel played Rory Gilmore, the talented writer and half of the Gilmore girls duo.

Flickr/ Creative Commons
Actress Alexis Bledel played Rory Gilmore, the talented writer and half of the Gilmore girls duo.

skin and bright ocean blue eyes?)

I envy her crazy relationships with Dean, Jess, and Logan. A date in stars hollow? Yes please! (I guess you can tell how fascinated I am with this town too….)

She is ridiculously smart and a talented writer. She was Editor of the Harvard paper.

I like to think I’m living the dream as a perspectives editor for my college paper…

Even though both Gilmore girls had a way of making everything seem perfect and could fix a bad day with a classic old movie and takeout complete with candy, each of them had their issues.

Rory had to deal with Logan’s awful parents and his family did not believe that she was talented enough as a writer. She dropped out of Harvard for a time.

Then she graduated, became a journalist for President Obama, and the rest is history.

Now that the show is on Netflix, I can enjoy watching reruns anytime I want. There is a sense of comfort watching the episodes over and over again.

Still, I want to know what’s going on after the last episode aired. Let’s have a Gilmore Girls movie!

What happened to Rory? Is she taking over the world as an up-and-coming journalist? Is she getting married or traveling across Europe, writing a book, and having fun? Did Lorelai and Luke get back together and have some intense reunion in the dragon fly inn?

So many unanswered questions!

This show deserves an epic ending on the silver screen. Everyone needs a dose of Lorelei and Rory in their lives.

Leave a Reply

